Copper load of that!

With my supply of silver running out fast and metal prices remaining high, I have been working increasingly with copper.

While not much use for jewellery, it’s an utterly wonderful metal to work and its relative cheapness means I can cut it up, blast it with the torch and generally abuse it with gay abandon and pretty nice results.

In recent months I have made copper books (that’s what I call a hardback!), personalised memory sticks (a slightly corny steampunk thang, but a fun project using 15mm plumbing pipe), dragon’s skin bangles (with thanks to Popnicute (video here) and some fold formed orchids I hope to sell as steampunk buttonholes for weddings.

I hope you enjoy the photographs!

IMG_9347

 

IMG_9404

The background for this one is my chunk of train rail bought from the lovely chaps at Elsecar, Sheffield. Railway line, being work hardened, makes a really good anvil and the volunteers at Elsecar said they are used to people asking for a small length in return for a donation.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

